Currency Information on Danish Krone

Currency Information on Danish Krone - DKK— Danish krone – Kr.

Introduced in 1875, the Danish krone is the official currency of Denmark, the Faroe Islands and Greenland. The word ‘krone’ means crown, and as such, the krone is sometimes called the Danish Crown by English speakers. Coins have been minted in Denmark since the 10th century, with the oldest coins being called ‘korsmonter’ (‘Cross coins’).

Before the introduction of the krone, coins in Denmark were used to generate profit for the monarch or the state, by decreasing the amounts of precious metals used to make them, and thus, making them unable to correspond to their face value, which resulted in a loss of trust in the coins from the public. Coins were reintroduced two years after the introduction of the Danish krone.

Denominations of coins, currently in circulation include 50-ore, 1, 2, 5, 10 and 20 kroner, whilst banknotes are available in denominations of 50, 100, 200, 500 and 1,000 kroner.

Copyright 2018 :: Compare Prepaid :: All Rights Reserved 27D Bruce Street, Dunfermline, Fife KY12 7AG. +44 (0) 843 886 9544 - Email Us