Currency Information on CFA Franc

Currency Information on CFA Franc - XOF — West African CFA Franc – CFA

The West African Franc covers eight countries in West Africa; Senegal, Togo, Benin, Burkina Faso, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali and Niger. The combined population of these eight independent states is 105.7 million people. CFA is an acronym meaning ‘Communauté Financière d'Afrique’, or ‘Financial Community of Africa.’ The franc subdivides into 100 centimes, though no centime denominations are issued.

The CFA Franc replaced the French West African Franc in 1945, and continued to be used when the colonies gained their independence in all original countries except Mali, who introduced their own franc, replacing the CFA franc 1961, although they reintroduced the CFA Franc in 1984 at a ratio of 2 Malian francs : 1 CFA franc.

Nicknames for the CFA franc include ‘cefa’ and ‘franc’, coins are available in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 20, 25, 50, 100, 200, 250 and 500 francs, whilst banknotes are available in denominations of 500, 1,000, 2,000, 5,000 and 10,000 francs.

Copyright 2018 :: Compare Prepaid :: All Rights Reserved 27D Bruce Street, Dunfermline, Fife KY12 7AG. +44 (0) 843 886 9544 - Email Us