Freedom Card Review – Prepaid Cash MasterCard 16 reviews

Freedom Card Review

Introducing the new payment card from White Eagle, The Freedom Eagle cash card is the latest pay as you go chip and pin MasterCard. Freedom Eagle is a payment MasterCard that works a bit like a pay as you go mobile phone. There is no interest charged and no danger of going overdrawn as you can only spend what you have loaded on to your account. Freedom offers a PAYG with No ID checks but lower limits, you can simply upgrade by providing ID and all restrictions are then removed.

Why get a Freedom prepaid credit card?

The Freedom prepaid card is an instant issue that comes in a handy retail pack. By applying online your application will be processed and your card dispatched the same working day (applications received before 15:00 weekdays) or as early as the next day.

In addition your PIN is available immediately using Freedom interactive voice recognition telephone service and when you get your welcome pack it also has immediate ATM access.

What sort of service do they offer?

Freedom is part of White Eagle (Europe) Plc, who won the ‘Best Marketing & Distribution’ award  at the MasterCard Prepaid Europe Awards 2008 . They are also one of the few prepaid companies that cater for the international community by having easy to use application forms in 18 different languages.

A Freedom Eagle PAYG card account gives you complete control of your money and how you spend it along with the freedom to buy online. You can also check your balance on the Internet or over the phone.

Payment plans and prepaid card benefits

With a Freedom prepaid MasterCard is a pay as you go which can be used straightaway. You just pay per transaction. In addition there are thousands of retail outlets to top up your prepaid account. Being a prepaid MasterCard it can be used at 28 million retail outlets and 1.5 ATM machines machines worldwide.

There is no ID required plus no credit checks to get you prepaid MasterCard where your account balance must not exceed £3000.00 and currently the Freedom is only available in GBP (£).

Who can apply for a Freedom card?

The Freedom credit card is a MasterCard branded card where anyone over the age of 18 years can apply for a Freedom card. Online secure application which takes a few minutes to complete, you will require your passport to confirm your identity.

The best feature of the Freedom is that you do not need to supply any form of identification or documentation at the time of purchase or activation.

If you would like to make a complaint about your Freedom account, contact Customer Services on customerservice @ freedom-card.co.uk or call their Customer Services 0871 288 4311 White Eagle operate a Multi-lingual Customer Services service. However if you are not satisfied with the outcome of your complaint you can write to Financial Ombudsman Service at South Quay Plaza, 183 Marsh Wall, London E14 9SR.

Apply Now

Reviews Displaying 16 reviews

Phil Antonov September 9, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

You load 10 pounds and 9 goes for the transaction !! and it seems that they charge 10 pounds for closing the card account, so you buy it for 9.99 and you have to pay 20 to close it (10 for the reload fee and 10 for the closing fee).

Make yourself a better person by not having this card.

Will September 25, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

You can’t use it for some online payments requiring authentication :(

kate October 20, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I am really pleased with my Freedom card. I now don’t have to worry when shopping online as I have had my identity stolen before. I have the pay monthly tariff and as I use it alot it works out well when it comes to fees. Never had any problems – Thanks Freedom

Alex October 26, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Excellent card with loads of features such as SMS banking and credit booster. easy to use and very secure for online purchases. they are very helpful and you can use it abroad and to make atm withdrawls. charges are clear and not very expensive although i probably didnt need the optional 1.99 insurance charge!

Liam November 12, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

This card is great. Packed full of benefits.My credit rating has imporved since using this card and I can manage my money easily from my mobile. I don’t know what I would do without it

Nick November 19, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

My Freedom Card got delivered to me the day after I ordered it online. Simple sign up process and the card is simple to use. Far better than a bank account and other prepaid cards that I have used before

Wendy December 17, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I have a freedom card, have for about a year. I put £50 on it on October, my account is now at zero – it says ‘Fee: Account end-of-life breakage’ what ever that is and it has charged me £60!! – I have tried contacting them and all the numbers are unobtainable – does anyone know if they have gone bust?

Wendy December 17, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Just found out that your card is only valid for one year, even though my expiry date is not until 2012, you have to upgrade card otherwise they shut it down! So they are sending me a new card and will load my previous balance on it.

I OTRG July 4, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Not impressed with custom service. loaded money on to card on Friday through Barclays Bank Internet Banking, still not credited to account, can’t speak to customer service, tells you to leave a message, did that on Friday and still no call back. No reply to earlier email today either!

wotamuppet July 7, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Absolute nightmare since the changeover. Incorrectly returned my wages a week ago due to their error, not responding to emails either. Also asked them 3 times to change name on card and provided ID, no response. Now my Paypal account wont work as I cant register new card as its in my old name. recurring payments not made, and Im broke because of these morons who don’t even have the decency to reply even days later. They used to be fine, now as soon as I get my wages Im outta there.

Cheryl July 13, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

STAY WELL AWAY!! Like the 2 reviews above I have found that the customer services for these people is non existent! I loaded £500 onto my card as per their instructions and the money never appeared in my account – apparently MY CARD WAS INVALID, I asked for the money to be returned to my bank account and I am still waiting for my £500 17 DAYS LATER!! Emails never get answered, constant answer machines and to add insult it costs you £1 to speak to a customer services agent. AVOID IF YOU CANT AFFORD TO HAVE MONEY MISSING FOR WEEKS ON END!!

jordan September 15, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Yes, I have similar experience yesterday i loaded my card with my halifax bank account and the service guarantee 2hrs to get to the card but nothing was credited to my acct the whole day and i get to speak to a male customer service and he was rude to me and still my money is ceased from me. I guess police complains is the best. Jordan

Janice September 29, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I’ve loaded my card with £10 and tried to use it in newlook and it would not go through, I’ve been looking to see what stores I can use it in and then tried to access my on line account. Then found these reviews

John November 22, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I previously had an Eagle cash card which was “upgraded” to this rubbish and now I find that there is a £1 monthly maintenance fee apart from all their other fees.

karpet permadani August 6, 2012

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Ive used the Freedom card and had no problems with it, easy to use, easy to load, simple to get in and navigate the online system. people complain to much most of this sounds like people dont know what they are doing.

steven hill September 6, 2012

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

totally agree with cheryl.Absolute shambles.the online statement is never up to date,put £30 on it some days ago,has appeared on statement but not on account balance,and they have the cheek to charge £1 to complain.was told that the reason for this was a pending transaction from weeks ago….mmm.Thought card payments were instant?.Not with this company.Started off well enough,but has gone downhill recently.Proud to say when i have spent all on the card,will be putting it in the bin,where it belongs.AVOID AT ALL COSTS!.(no pun intended)

We also compare...

Bank Accounts

Best basic bank
accounts for
Free...

Travel Money Card's

Free Travel money card's just
minimum load...

Money Transfers

International money transfer providers

Latest Reviews

One banking prepaid card

Latest Pre Paid Card\'s News

Copyright 2016 :: Compare Money Transfer Limited :: All Rights Reserved