Fairfx Travel Money Card Dollar Review 59 reviews

Fairfx Dollar travel money MasterCard

FairFX Dollar Prepaid Card Review

FairFX provide their customers with great value travel money by offering market-leading rates. By eliminating expensive bureaus and kiosks with high foreign currency exchange rates, Fairfx can provide best priced Euros and Dollars in a highly convenient fashion. Fairfx currency card currently offer additional benefits when you use your card as well as excellent foreign currency exchange rates

By getting a FairFX card you can also get better exchange rates than high street banks, at bureau de change and travellers cheques. Depending on the exchange rate you can get between 5 to 8% more money.

Why get a FairFX Prepaid MasterCard?

The FairFX travel money card base their service on Price, Convenience and Security. They cut out the middle man and use state of the art technology to execute your foreign currency orders and get your money to you at the best price.

If you are going on holiday and want to pay for transactions using a plastic, use a fairfx travel card. With better rates than the Post Office and Travelex at airports you get a better exchange rate for your money. Fairfx prepaid travel cards are available in euros and Dollars.

What sort of service do they offer?

You’ll receive a full online facility giving you access to your statements 24/7 from anywhere in the world. From there you’ll be able to load money anywhere in the world by internet. Plus Transactions in shops, online and in restaurants are also free of charge. There are no foreign exchange or monthly fees and loading your card is FREE.

The Fairfx travel money card is very flexible you can convert your card in euros or dollars and as a MasterCard you can use worldwide including getting your cash via ATM’s. This is a safer alternative then carrying cash or travellers cheques when going on holiday.

Payment plans and prepaid card benefits

The FairFX prepaid MasterCard is a travel money card where you preload your card with foreign currency. It can be used at over 28 million retail outlets worldwide and 1.5 ATM machines machines worldwide.

There is no credit check to get you prepaid MasterCard where your account balance must not exceed $10,000.00 and currently the card is available in Euro’s or Dollar’s.

Who can apply for a card?

The Fair FX travel money card is a MasterCard branded card where anyone over the age of 18 years can apply for a card. Online secure application which takes a few minutes to complete, you will require your passport to confirm your identity.

FairFX prepaid card will send you a welcome pack in the post once you get your card sign it instantly and then activate your prepaid card online or over the phone, once activated you can then buy foreign currency.

If you would like to make a complaint about your Fair fx card, phone 020 7078 2704 or email them at enquiries @ fairfx.com. However if you are not satisfied with the outcome of your complaint you can write to Financial Ombudsman Service at South Quay Plaza, 183 Marsh Wall, London E14 9SR.

Apply now for a FairFX US Dollar travel money MasterCard

Apply Now

Reviews Displaying 59 reviews

Trevor August 27, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

One of the better travel money cards on the market would recommend them to anyone

Phillip August 27, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

have been searching around to get my travel money as the exchange rates are so poor at the moment, decided to get the fairfx card.

I cant believe how of a difference it made, i put £2000 on my card to cover my family when we go to Spain and got over 160 more euros (thats a night out). thanks fairfx

Tanya August 30, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Wanted to send money to my daughter who is working abroad in Spain. Have been using western union and got fed up with all their charges as it soon adds up when you are doing it sometimes twice a month.

When i read your article in the Guardian i signed up to the Fairfx card and gave it a go. Turns out everything is true and it has saved me money

Thanks compare prepaid

Green Light September 4, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Now, that’s a damn cool offer…bro!! By accessing the Fairfx travel money card, now I can easily convert it in dollars and euros and even as a MasterCard, I can use it in all parts of the globe. No longer, I need to carry cash or traveler cheques while going to holiday, as it is a much more secured alternative option.

Shorty September 7, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The Fairfx travel money card is one of the most trendsetting ventures of the 21st century. It gives me full online facility 24*7 through which I can withdraw cash from any corners of the planet at ease. In addition, all the online transactions in shops and restaurants are also absolutely free.

Olivia September 9, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Whenever I went for a vacation , the fairfx travel money card is automatically the first and foremost choice. It certainly offers better exchange rates compared to the post offices and Travelex at the airports. Even the fairfx travel card often uses the state of the art technology in order to execute the foreign currency orders successfully.

Da-Xia September 9, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

By using the Fairfx travel money card, now you will be able to access all your statements from any corners of the world at ease. This service is available 24*7. again, you also possess the liberty to load money from anywhere just by using the internet in an efficient manner.

Carl September 9, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The fairfx travel money card usually modifies their various services on security, convenience and price. It often uses the state of the art methodology while executing your foreign currency orders and providing the money at the best price available in the global market. Now, all of these travel cards are widely available in dollars and euros.

Mister Googlehead September 11, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Feel the the new age man. If you are still not feeling so, get hooked to Fairfx! Glob trotting is one of the hobbies you can fulfill with Fairfx prepaid mastercard. Visit places you have never being before andget valued currency exchanges done through Fairfx prepaid mastercard! My Greece trip was a hit last summer!

Xhizors September 14, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Now the weatherman can only stop your footsteps, travel around with Fairfx trucked up in your sleeves. Swap it, use the pin and chip tech, believe me its easy, its convenient to the par excellence. Habits die hard, and I am glued to my Fairfx when I travel. No matter where I go, the card keeps converting my money in local currency.

Nihivik September 14, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The Fairfx travel money card is now granting all the customers with a great value travel money along with market leading rates. It ardently eliminates all the expensive bureaus and kiosks that are being dealt with massive foreign currency exchange rates. It even caters with best priced euros and dollars according to your convenience.

Lorraine September 15, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

By accessing the fairfx travel money card, now I am receiving all the privileges of online security 24/7 from anywhere in the world. Apart from this, I can also load funds in my account, even while traveling outside. Loading in the card is absolutely free excluding the foreign exchanges and monthly fees.

Maisie September 16, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I was out on a trip at the Greece and runout of real money after shoping at the local market. My wife was smarter and brought out her Fairfx, the owner smiled and made the pyment bills in seconds! That’s great indeed.a lesson learned for even right now I have Fairfx in my wallet shining and bright!

Sybil September 17, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Here there is a damn cool way of transaction bro!Now I can easily use my card and do transactions in local currency.I can also sop[ anywhere in the globe where Mastercard is accepted.I need no cash or cheques while traveling as the card comes with greater security measures and protection.

Candy September 20, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I am really grateful for Fairfx as it really helped me keep my worries at bay during my travel overseas. With better rates than the Post Office and Travelex at airports I receieved better exchange rates than any other deals. Real time security features with advanced technology to faciliatate my foreign transactions.

Dream Guy September 22, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Wanted to send money to my lover in Rome but got fed up with Western Union as their services are quite cumbersome with charging units going up everytime.I tried fairfx for the first time and I am proud to say that I really saved a lot of money using it.

Pru September 23, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The fairfx travel money card is my all time favorite. Now, by sitting in any corners of the globe, I can receive all the online facilities 24 hours a day. I can even load the money in my accoumnt…just by sitting in front of my lappy for a few seconds. Pretty coll…huh!!

Candy September 23, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Great online facility with 24/7 access to my account online.Fantabulous!!!!!Its a great way to have control over my money and get the pulse of my money mobility.Moreover it eases my travel expenses as there is no foreign exchange or monthly fees associated with the card.Great flexibility to boast off and cherish.

Babycake September 24, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The fairfx travel money card depends a lot on the services of security, convenience and price. Hence, it efficiently outlines the middleman and employs the state of the art technology while executing the foreighn currency orders and supply the money to you at the best price available in the nation.

Al September 29, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The fairfx travel money card depends a lot on the services of security, convenience and price. Hence, it efficiently outlines the middleman and employs the state of the art technology while executing the foreighn currency orders and supply the money to you at the best price available in the nation.

Susanna September 29, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Daughters going on a field trip and they ran out of money, I took a chance of thought of taking hjelp of fairfx- lord! These smart people transferred the amount in such a super haste-they indeed do what they promise without any hidden uncanny facts. You money all and growing with fairfx.

Daniel September 29, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The fairfx travel money card depends a lot on the services of security, convenience and price. Hence, it efficiently outlines the middleman and employs the state of the art technology while executing the foreighn currency orders and supply the money to you at the best price available in the nation.

Irwin September 29, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

My vacation is now breathing a new air of freedom with fairfx card which has great benefits of monetory dealings.Now I can get better exchange rates and better technology updated continuously to process my financial outcomes.Moreover my foreign exchange orders are promoted very easily with the help of the card.

Avarilla October 1, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Fairfx travel money card is a great innovation to banking.The product has great flexibility regarding banking btransactions.Now I can easily bank online 24/7 without the fear of identity theft as the security platform is very active.Moreover they don’t charge you for transactions directed towards shops and restaurants.Now isn’t it great?

Michael October 5, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The Application process, is OK. Fees& charges, again OK. Functions & features, as I have not been able to use the card, who know’s. Customer service, so far Very Bad, have activated on line, go on the Phone at 10p a Min Six times get right through to date of Birth and am then told that I am entering it wrong. Phoned Services no help. So the money that I have saved by using them is going onphone costs, and still cant use the card. Reliability, so far Not Good.

john007 October 25, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

My son went on a excurtion from school and on the 2nd day needed money. I had to look for the best opton to send him money at the earliest. Someone mentioned about FAIRFX and believe you in me, it was really helpful. The money got transferred really fast and safe.

lukngglassgreg October 27, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Sending money to a far off city when your dear ones or your companies employee gets stuck for lack of money, Fairfx does a wonderfull job and it has in the past saved lots of people and company from getting ruined in the last minute of an important work or deal.

Ducky November 8, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

This facility or service provided by the bank helps to transfer money to almost any place within a very short span of time. This proves to be very handy when you are unable to reach that place and yet you have to send the money without delay and without fail.

Vorrek November 11, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Imagine you are at London and have your son has gone on a science project tour to Uganda and he called up from their for some urgent fund. Well you do have a medium called Fairfx with which your can send money to your son immediately without any further delay. That is incredible.

madmonkxx November 16, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

In today’s busy world where the huge globe or earth as we all knows has become very small and within our reach. A person standing at the Artic region could very easily send money at the middle of any desert in a jiffy. Life in today’s world has become so easy with the introduction of Fairfx.

C0LE November 16, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

We all want to do all our work very fast since life has become so fast pace today. We are all running towards our goal. While in the run of achieving our goal we have to do many errands like fund transfer from one place to another place in a very short span of time. Then we remember Fairfx which helps us in doing exactly that. Believe me in emergency situation Fairfx place a very vital role to save us.

SirPreston November 21, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Money transfer is now such a trivial matter now. Unlike earlier days, when transferring money from one place to another was such a big deal. Now I can easily send money to my son in the minimal possible time. With Fairfx it is no more a trouble and absolutely scam free!

LifePak November 28, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The reason I chose the fairfx card was because I thought the exchange rate was better than compared to the other cards where I would probably have gone for any cash or traveller cheques. It was so convenient and it only took 7 days for me to receive the card

Eua November 28, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Wanted to send money to my daughter abroad. Had been using western union but was tired of all their charges as it starts piling up when you are doing it more than once a month. However, after using Fairfx, I am so assured that everything claimed by it is so true.

Coffinian November 28, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

We all desire to do our entire job very swiftly since life has become so fast pace today. While in the race for obtaining our target we have to do many chores like fund transfer from one place to another place in a very short time period. In crisis Fairfx plays a very crucial role to save us

MacbethL November 28, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I have been a regular customer of fairfx since many years. Seems I have lost my count. I now wish to express my gratitude to fairfx for making my money matters so simple. Be it the prepaid cards for my holidays, money transfer to my parents or travel money, I trust fairfx anytime and anywhere!

DaavKox November 30, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Money transfer had never been easier before, and I guess it is not possible to be easier than this either. With Fairfx I have done so many money transfers and without any exception, all of them have been executed smoothly and successfully! My best wishes are always with Fairfx forever!

Sebaloz December 2, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The fairfx travel money card is my all time favourite. Now, no matter where on earth I am, I can obtain all the facilities of this throughout the day, and all the days of a week. I can even load the money in my account just by sitting in front of my laptop for some time.

erciyaes December 2, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The fairfx travel money card is my all time favourite. Now, no matter where on earth I am, I can obtain all the facilities of this throughout the day, and all the days of a week. I can even load the money in my account just by sitting in front of my laptop for some time.

Foniko December 4, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Now, that’s just a super cool offer. By accessing the Fairfx travel money card, now I can easily convert it in dollars and euros and even as a MasterCard, I can use it in all over the world! No longer, I am required to carry cash or traveler cheques while going to holiday.

Coverlie December 4, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Sending money to somewhere out of country or city when your dear ones or your companies worker gets wedged for lack of money, Fairfx does a astonishing job and it has long-ago saved lots of people and company from going into ruins in the final moments or any work or deals

lito303 December 6, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I wished to transfer money to my friend in Rome but became sick of the Western Union money transfer since their services are quite burdensome with charging units going up every now and then .I tried fairfx for the first time and I was so proud to have saved a lot of money using it.

Icewik December 7, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Be a man of today. If you are not so, then fix up with Fairfx! World tours is one of the hobbies you can accomplish with Fairfx prepaid mastercard. Go to sites and stations you have never been before and receive priced currency exchanges done through Fairfx prepaid mastercard! My trip to france was amazing last month!

theroller December 9, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The Fairfx travel money card is now awarding all the customers with immense worth travel money along with market leading rates. It enthusiastically eradicates all the luxurious bureaus and kiosks that are being dealt with massive foreign currency exchange rates. It even provides with best priced euros and dollars according to your expediency.

CHIBI December 16, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The FairFx card is a pre-paid MasterCard, that I can top it up simply with a debit or credit card and it converts my sterling into Dollars or Euros giving you a very competitive exchange rate. When I looked at best rates this card was also at the top of the list when it came to the best deals.

FuryOfAngel December 28, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Hey…there is a good news..pals!! the Fairfx prepaid gold mastercard is of your own accord presenting all the customers with the free purchase protection. In case, the goods are found flawed or damaged, Fairfx would immediately dispute the transaction and even recover the funds which has already been paid to the merchant or accredited to your account.

LordHolt January 3, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Got my trip ready in hours, picked up friends from their place and right now I am not worrying a bit about the whole thing. Well! Well! Well! Its my fairfx card that is handling the worrying part for me and my team right now, you can book and pay right away, without carrying real money at all.

Keith January 15, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Spot the 40 reviews by the FairFX PR department.

Marky February 10, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Almost all reviews are by FairFX staff. Nobody I know would write a review like that and give exactly the same number of stars in each one. Ignore them all!

Stephen Thoms March 7, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

This is the reply I received from Fairfx, which is the amount they charge if you when you deposit £10.00 and then attempt to withdraw the cash from a free ATM.

— Hello, Not the ATM fee, the FairFX ATM free, which is £1.50 + the 1.4%transaction charge. You would not be able to withdraw it back from an ATM, you can spend upto £8.60 in a shop instead to use up your funds. Thank you,Asha

You have been warned!

Gerry O'B March 22, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Don’t quite understand what the reviewer Stephen Thoms’ problem is – they state online quite clearly these charges for their Anywhere card. Read before you apply!

Anyway – I used the Euro card and ordered euros from them for delivery last year for a Cyprus holiday. Updated the card from my phone (sms) while I was there. Worked like a dream

Richard Morwell April 21, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Was looking for an alternative to my Nationwide Debit Card after it abandoned it’s policy for fee-free foreign use. I thought the FairFX Anywhere Card might be the best alternative despite the costs. It is a ‘next best’ alternative, but can’t really be compared.

The costs for using the card are marginally better than other cards I possess (HSBC Debit, etc) but unless you are going to spend £10k or more, your savings are too low to worry about using this card. You will save – but things such as residual funds swallow this up. (You will struggle to clear the card in full due to the authorisation policy – 2% taken in case of currency fluctuations and adjusted later, therefore leaving you left with the option of occurring more charges in a second/third attempt to clear the card)

I also encountered a problem when trying to use the card at a Restaurant which only accepted Debit – I can only guess it was treating it as a credit card and preventing the transaction.

I won’t be taking this card on holiday again – it’s not worth the effort.

Tim South Yorkshire June 16, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Very disappointing performance from this card. Used on a recent trip to the West Coast of the United States.
There were many occasions (mainly petrol stations) where the card was not accepted. The main reason we took it was for simplicity and ease of use. Given hindsight we would definitely have taken cash.
The company also decided to reset my password for the website during my holiday -sending the details on how to reactivate my login to my work E-mail address not accessible from the USA. The card now has $13 left on it – which at the moment I cannot retrieve.
Definitely WOULD NOT use this card again.

Andrew July 11, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I agree with the 3 reviews above. So many people scoring identical marks? Come on!
Unless we’re dealing with sheep they’ve all been produced using the same information supplied to them. Even the word counts are similar and, oddly enough, the large majority of the earlier ones were written on week days!

My card arrived too late for me to take abroad, which was my fault for applying late. However the charges for retrieving my cash were ridiculous, an ATM fee, a percentage transaction fee and then the rate is reduced by a further 0.3%. This is worsened by having to repeat the process as ATMs have a daily limit. Great!

Richard Allison August 19, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

It is the second time Fairfx have let me down while abroad. This time on trying to top up my card in the USA I had problems and I could not get it to top up. The problem we have are just moving house, no problem say Fairfx just send us a utility bill from the house you are going to move into, very helpful when you are in the USA for the next 10 days before you even move in!! The other reviewers are also correct in saying it is not acceptable at a lot of ATM’s etc. Avoid

Val September 11, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I used the card for the first time
with US dollars. It was accepted where I used it ok, but the drawback is if you have no internet access while abroad you cant check the balance on the card, so you need to keep an accurate record of useage to be able to use up the balance, otherwise you are left with money which there would be a $10 charge to have refunded, or as others say there is a fee to get the money in £ from ATMs, and unless you are lucky with the balance you have remaining, it is unlikely you will be able to get all the balance out as there is a £5 minimum on ATM drawings. So unless you are going to use the card for quite a lot of money the savings can be outweighed by the disadvantages.

David October 17, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Have used the US Dollar, Euro and Anywhere cards in multiple countries without problems. Top up via the Internet has always been quick, reliable and easy and currency conversion rates (for the Anywhere card) seem slightly better than other cards I have.

It’s also strangely reassuring to log on to the website at any time and see the card balance displayed, including card payments made only minutes before – the updating of card account details seems to be almost instantaneous.

Very satisfied.

Mel Turner February 5, 2012

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Just used a Fairfx card for the first time in Vegas on the recommendation of a friend of a friend. Never again !! Ridiculous charges at ATMs, daily limit on the amount you can withdraw from the card (excellent ploy to get you to pay charges over and over from the ATMs) and we were only required to input our pin number once in the entire time we were away and we didn’t have to sign either. Basically the card was accepted pretty much everywhere (I think it was only declined once) but as I say, the card could be used without inserting a PIN or supplying a signature which was extremely worrying. Brilliant news if you lost it !!!! Wont be using one again. Travellers cheques or plain old fashioned cash in future. At least you aren’t charged for removing cash from your room safe !!

Roy Paton August 9, 2012

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I have used a fairfx pre-pay card for the past 4 years. I have used it in Europe when I go skiing/hols,on a world trip and in Australia, without any problems. I find the convenience of being abkle to top up my card before I depart on holiday, then topping up my card on holiday from my smart phone really easy and CONVENIENT! The rates for currency conversions are the best I have found and once mastered the process is very simple! I think my Fairfx pre-pay card is great!

We also compare...

Bank Accounts

Best basic bank
accounts for
Free...

Travel Money Card's

Free Travel money card's just
minimum load...

Money Transfers

International money transfer providers

Latest Reviews

One banking prepaid card

Latest Pre Paid Card\'s News

Copyright 2014 :: Compare Money Transfer Limited :: All Rights Reserved