Escape Card – Prepaid MasterCard – Phones 4 U 81 reviews

Phones 4 U Prepaid Card Review

Introducing the new prepaid MasterCard from E.Z.Pay Ltd, part of the Phones 4u Group. Escape Prepaid Card is the latest pay as you go chip and pin MasterCard. The Escape Card is a MasterCard that works just like a pay as you go mobile phone, you can only spend what you have topped up. Now only £9.99 where £5 of which is refunded if you load £100 in the first 90 days.

With a Escape prepaid MasterCard there is no danger of going overdrawn or danger of incurring fees, also is the only card to not charge a transaction fee and monthly fee.

Why get a Phones 4 U pay as you go credit card?

The Escape Card offers a prepaid card with No ID checks (but lower limits) via the Phones 4u store chain as long as any application fee is paid and proof of ID is provided. If you purchase one of these in store, you can simply upgrade by providing ID by email or post and all card restrictions are then removed. The Phones 4 U prepaid card do not charge a transaction fee or monthly fee.

What sort of service do they offer?

Escape Prepaid Card is part of E Z Pay Ltd, part of the Phones 4u Group, which turns over £800+ Million per annum and employs over 5000 members of staff – in terms of stability and standing this dwarfs other prepaid card issuers. There are 450 stores nationwide where instant issue cards can be purchased and all cards can be TOPPED UP WITH CASH FOR FREE.

E Z Pay Ltd are also one of the few prepaid card companies that cater for the international community by having easy to use application forms and how to use videos in 13 different languages. With the Escape card you can top up your mobile phone, from your handset by text message 24 hours a day for free and get cash back everytime you do it. please note that standard network rates apply, i.e. they don’t charge for the service but your provider might.

Payment plans and prepaid card benefits

The Escape is a pay as you go credit card Mastercard. It can be used at over 32 million retail outlets worldwide. Escape card allows you to access all the things like a credit card in the knowledge that your transactions are safe and secure. Card limits are £3,000 for a 3 year personalised card – £1650.00 for a 3 year unpersonalised card – £650.00 for a 1 year spend card.

Who can apply for a Phones 4 U Card?

You can get an Escape Card simply by being 18 years or older and resident in the UK. Online secure application which takes a few minutes to complete, you will require your passport or driving licence or EU ID card to confirm your identity and once you have completed your application you will receive your card in a maximum of 5 working days.

Phones 4 U offer NO credit checks are done as you are guaranteed to be accepted as long as you pay the application fee and provide proof of your ID. Even if you have bad credit you can still be accepted.

If you would like to make a complaint about your Phones 4 U card, contact Customer Services on 0844 871 5444, or by email at customercare@escape-prepaid-card.com. However if you are not satisfied with the outcome of your complaint you can write to Financial Ombudsman Service at South Quay Plaza, 183 Marsh Wall, London E14 9SR.

apply

Apply Now

Reviews Displaying 81 reviews

Eileen August 30, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The phones4u card is one of the best prepaid cards in the uk market mainly due to the facts

It does not charge you when you use your card
There are no monthly fees
Can top up at any phones 4 u branch for free

Paul Mark September 1, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I originally purchased this card prior to getting a travel card – i actually used it for travel but changed when the Escape Travel card was launched. I have also used this card for a few London nights out and web purchases. Easy to buy & load up and trouble free

Christian September 1, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Great Card! Easy to apply, activate and use!
Use it virtually anywhere!

Luke September 2, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I have a totally different experience to the other commentators.

I purchased the card from phones 4 u and then did not hear anything for over 2 weeks so I called customer service (Indian Call center who rarely answer the phone). They told me that I needed to supply identification (it would have been easier if they had asked in the shop) so I had to go and scan my driving license / passport and email them.

After this I did not head anything again for 5 days, so I had to send a chase up email. Add another 3 days for them to reply to this for them to tell me I needed to pay for card, even though I had already paid when I got it from the store!!!

So another email was sent explaining I had paid already and perhaps if they looked at the account they would see this…this was four days ago and I have given up.

Why would I want to put hundreds of pounds of my money into a card run by a company who can’t even manage the initial application?

Think about this, this is a cheap service so you will save initial costs, but what about if something goes wrong and your on holiday with a poor level of service to support you?

Not for me.

Tanya September 3, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

the phones 4 u card was easy to get and i have not had a problem since i got my card. Would recommend this card to everyone looking at getting a prepaid card

Lego September 4, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The recently launched prepaid MasterCard from the E.Z. Pay Ltd is simply an awesome product. Now, I can top up my cell phone by text message with the help of the Escape card 24*7. And most importantly, I used to get my cash back each and every time I do it.

Cheese September 7, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Fantabulous!! No longer I need to carry a bunch of cash along with me as now I can access the Escape prepaid card at over 28 million retail outlets all over the world. It even permits me to use all the things like a credit card, accompanied with safe and secure transactions.

Emily September 9, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The newly launched prepaid mastercard from the phones 4u group functions just like a pay as you go cell phone. Now I can spend only that amount that I have topped up. A refundable deposit of £5.00 is required for the card plus which I can get back after loading an amount of £100.

Cabal September 9, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Now I can instantly issue my new prepaid MasterCard from EZ pay Limited, a part of the Phones 4u Group. Even, I can top up my mobile phone just by sending a text message at any time according to my convenience and receive the cash at the very moment without any hassles.

Agnes September 9, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The Escape prepaid card, a part of the EZ pay Ltd and Phones 4u group is now turning over more than ₤800 million per annum and is recruiting nearly 5000 employees in an efficient manner. In addition, there are huge number of stores available nationwide and from there you can buy the instant issue cards.

Sparky September 11, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

No fattened wallet by just the phone 4 u Escape card-that all you need pal!! Stop at one retail counter swap you card and lol you have your pick for the day. Shop this Christmas, just like I will be doing.your money isin iron hands and the customer service is awesome.

deviantART September 14, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

A single swip card does all the spending for me folks! No hidden stuffs, the phone 4 u Escape card helps you out with all the shopping, fuel filling and al that you need to lead a life in peace! I say, counting money is aging away!!Phones 4 U makes that certain.

ross88 September 14, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The Escape card ,a part of the EZ Pay Ltd and Phones 4u Group is now offering a prepaid card accompanied with No ID checks through the Phones 4u store chain. By purchasing this prepaid card, now you will be able to update your existing ID eithr by post or via email.

Emeline September 15, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Yep… now I can use my Escape card at over 28 million retail outlets spread all around the world. It also enables me to access all the objects like a credit card and the transactions are also fully secured and safe. The card limits are mainly ₤3000 for a personalized card of three years and ₤1650 for the unpersonlaized ones.

Billie September 16, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

It is easy to handle and far more easier to manage, I am not afraid over paying the retailer nor I am worried about the little hapless exchanges, for me the phone 4 u Escape card created all the magic. And I don’t need to ask help from other anymore!

Evelyn September 17, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Best card in the UK market. It has given flexibility to my daily financial needs.Can you wonder it doesnot charge me for my purchases?No monthly fees also.What can you expect more?great innovation.

BooBear September 20, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Ultimate benefits bro! The escape card is a all time favorite of mine with features similar to a credit card. Being MasterCard branded it can be used in a variety of puroposes.Moreover I can top up my card for free with lots of things to do with the card. What are you waiting for? rush to avail the offer .

Joey'80 September 20, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I spent ages deciding which prepaid card to use, and having been persuaded by the cashback deals and low fees on this card I’m glad I made this choice. Would recommend to anyone looking to budget more wisely.

Babycake September 22, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Really a great card to use anywhere,at anytime whenever I wish.I can avail of the virtual platform giving me great convenience.Moreover I can top up my cell 24/7 by Escape card.Really an innovation in modern day banking.Love to recommend to anyone looking for flexible banking options with great reliability platform.

Tillie September 23, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

It’s just awesome…man!! Now, I can easily recharge my mobile just by sending a message at any time of the day according to my wish. And, every time I will get my cash back. Apart from this, I can also purchase the instant issue cards from a huge numver of stores available throughout the nation.

camilojc September 23, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The phones4u card is one of the most happening cards in the market!it provides an easy way to shop,dine out without spending an extra dime.It is convenient to use and can be reloaded and comes without a subscription charge.I would recommend it to everyone who is looking for a flexible option.

JANET HERON September 23, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I AM HAPPY WITH THE ESCAPE CARD. I ADDED A COMPANION CARD FOR MY JAMAICAN HUSBAND. IT IS CHEAPER FOR ME THAN MONEYGRAM UNTIL HE COMES OVER WITH A SPOUSE VISA. HOWEVER, THE SHOPS WOULD NOT LET HIM PURCHASE GOODS BECAUSE ALTHOUGH HIS CARD HAS HIS NAME ON IT I AM THE CARD HOLDER, AND I AM NOT THERE WITH HIM TO ARGUE WITH THEM IN JAMAICA, THEY ARE VERY FUNNY SOMETIMES BECAUSE OF FRAUD SO THEY RATHER SAY NO THAN YES BECAUSE I WAS NOT WITH HIM AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE. THAT IS A DRAWBACK BECAUSE THEY TAKE ABOUT £5 EVERYTIME HE WITHDRAWS CASH. ONE SHOP STILL OWES HIM £10 THEY SWIPED THE CASH FOR FOOD AND THEN HELD ONTO THE FOOD AND THE CASH BECAUSE HE IS NOT THE MAIN CARD HOLDER ONLY THE COMPANION. I HAVE TO GO AND DEAL WITH IT THE SHOP SAID. OH YES? £1,000 PLANE FARE TO SORT OUT £10 THEY OWE MY HUSBAND. THE GOOD THING IS IF YOU PAY THE CASH IN PHONES 4 US IT IS INSTANTLY ON THE CARD AND THEY CAN GET IT ABROAD AT ONCE. BUT IF YOU TOP UP AT A POST OFFICE IT TAKES 2 DAYS TO PROCESS ALMOST AND A 99 PENCE CHARGE BY PHONES 4 US NOT THE PO. I FIND ESCAPE CARDS CONVENIENT AND WOULD RECOMMEND THEIR USE ESPECIALLY IF YOU TRAVEL ABROAD AND WANT TO USE IT YOURSELF. NO PROBLEM. A SAFE WAY TO CARRY MONEY.

Caroline R September 24, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I chose the Escape card because it was the best deal on offer at the time. I bought a Euro card at a Phones 4 U shop in Lincoln (one of the two stores). The staff there were useless, didn’t understand the card or how it worked, I ended up explaining to them how it worked from what I had learnt from the internet. What they hadn’t made clear was that you can’t get a balance from an ATM as they are not linked and when I went to a CO-op ATM, it refused to recognise the card. I had a panic coz I’d put a huge chunk of holiday cash onto it,and I was panicing that the card wouldn’t work on holiday. I went back to the Phones 4 U store and they were still useless and now rude to boot! Phoned customer services in India (or where-ever) and the guy there was reading from a script, he couldn’t answer a question which wasn’t covered by his notes. I gave up and tried emailing them, the email was bounced back because the email addy on the site was wrong. I rang Phones 4 U,. the manager asked if I’d typed in the right address, I told him I’d clicked on it and he gave me another address, which was also incorrect. By this time I was in a flat spin, lots of money on card, Phones 4 U uselss and rude, emails bouncing back undelivered. Got in touch with Newcastle BS who run the card, couldn’t be more helpful, got a phone call from head office of Escape travel card and got all sorted out. Put more money on card at other branch of Phones 4 U – who actually knew what they were doing, dead helpful and polite. went on holiday, card worked as it should, only downside was it was a pain to get a balance, ended up keeping a running total in my diary, the hotel we stayed in had an internet connection but it was slow, so it cost about 5 euros to get a balance. Was not the best experience I had initially all down to the inadequacies of the staff at Phones 4 U Lincoln. However, I still have the card and would use it again if I travel somewhere that uses Euros.

Bunny September 24, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Hooray…now I can use my new escape card at more than 28 million retail outlets spread throughout the world even while going for a vacation or traveling abroad. In addition, it also alows me to use all the things like a credit acrd and provide utmost security for all the transactions.

Addie September 29, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Hooray…now I can use my new escape card at more than 28 million retail outlets spread throughout the world even while going for a vacation or traveling abroad. In addition, it also alows me to use all the things like a credit card and provide utmost security for all the transactions.

Amy September 29, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Its escape card helps me to escape from major tidings. I can talk on and on and when the balances narrows down to zero, I just top up with the card-just anytime I feel like. That’s call absolute revolutionary banking. Access you account from any point through any mode-its all secured and reliable.

Isadora September 29, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

An easy to get Mastercard with lots of other features has made my transactions hassle free.I can easily topup my card with text messages and can avil of cash easily without any problem.The card gives me great flexibility with regards to withdrawal and depository features.Great card to boast off really!

Dee October 1, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The phones 4 u card is a great option if you wish to use your card on daily basis.There are great benefits like no monthly charges neither they charge you when you wish to use the card.I now can top up the card at any designated phones 4 u branches.

gemma October 3, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

i find this card a total waste of time i can not pay my bills and once the money is on there it hard to get it back off. there is no customer service and no one wants to help you had i been told the facts at the time of purchase i proberly wouldnt of botherd with it as i now get told that a limit you can put on is 650 but you cant spend it once its on there so what is the point in having this card i loaded this card up with the money to pay my bills the card pointless declines even though there is funds on there and you cant take the cash of it from a cash machine any one thinking of getting this card dont bother it will screw things up for you

Della October 25, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

This concept is indeed very helpful for busy people and even otherwise. This way it helps to access your account from just about anywhere at any point of time. Remember this easy facility is also very reliable in terms of security angle. Thiws is what I say freedom to easy banking.

roberts October 27, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

When my friend’s grandfather got a knee surgery and was bed ridden for quite some time during that time he had an important payment to be done to someone. Since he could not move from his bed so he just took his phone and made a call. They rest was taken care of by the Bank.

Thomas Watson November 3, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Well i already had the titanium plus master card from the money shop but the 5 quid monthly charge put me off so i got the escape card and its like a dream i am online shopping everyday thanks to this card fellas my hats off to you

WELL DONE

ladyshrew November 8, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The very old invention, our telephone is implementing to our modern Banking. This collaboration had made banking very easy and feasible for the entire account holder who avails this facility. You can transfer your fund or even navigate your fund lying in your bank account for your profit venture.

ZaNudt November 11, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Phone banking wow, now that’s what I call is being techno savvy and smart thinking on the part of the banker. They are offering their customer a device so handy that they become really close to the Bank even being far away from the bank. Thus time is saved and physical stress is also reduced.

Lee November 13, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I got the Escape Card online, but every time i email them id details to lift the limits up the email bounces back. The Phones 4 U shop are useless don’t know much about the card. Pointless phoning a call centre only to speak to some indian person who is useless at talking english. PHONES 4 U you should get a call centre in Britian and employ british people, no wonder there is no jobs in this country when everything is always going of seas. David Cammeron get your finger out of your ass and get this country going by making all jobs stay in this country and only employ british people. NATWEST should make a prepaid card as a least there branches are open 6 days and they are enlish speaking and with british call centres.

Nomedute November 16, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

We all know what benefit phone has given to the mankind. Many time consuming work are done in minutes with the use of phone. Our bank is not far behind. They have also utilized this facility to give feasibility to us. We could now transfer fund, make several payments; check current status of our account and many more important work is done through phone.

snakemgs November 16, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Phone was traditionally used to talk and communicate with each other that are beyond each others reach. But modern times have invented new functions of phone. Now people could complete their banking functions through their phone by sitting at the home or office. We can transfer fund, check the current status of our bank account through our phone.

KamiNoKishi November 21, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

With phones 4 u escape card, talking on phone now comes without the constant anxiety of my balance and bills. I can freely make calls for as long as I want, knowing that if the balance gets reduced to zero I can always top it up again and again get back to my calls!

Saurcon November 28, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

At first, I had an improvement on my phone at phones4u on in a nearby store where the employees were very cooperative. I had to go back to the store concerning my phone and the service I received was amazing. Would like to thank them whole heartedly for all their helps.

wtz November 28, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Outstanding backing from the Phones 4 you, I went to this particular branch. The people in there were so pleasant with me, it absolutely impressed me. They did not have the phone I want so called another branch and got it shipped over the next day. Phones4u , u rock!

sKholte November 28, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Since so many years me and family have used phones for you numerous number of times and in usual circumstances have been delighted with the service. The employees at phones4you are very helpful and knowledgeable. The rates are almost as same as the other shops, so we would recommend phones 4 u.

Niefankaz November 28, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Phones 4 u has made calling and communicating so easy. My previous two phones is from phones 4 u and I must say I was awed by the amazing facilities. The functioning was always smooth and all the complaints by me were looked after. Thanks a lot phones 4 u!

xxooGodooxx November 30, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Talking, chatting, gossiping is all more fun with phones 4 u around. With branches and retailers at almost every nook and corner, it is indeed one brand in its business. Hence, I completely rely on phones 4 u for all my mobile needs and services. Be it top up, recharge, repair or any other need.

saitsu December 2, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

outstanding assistance from the Phones 4 you, i went to a nearby branch. The people in there were so warm to me, it put a smile on my face. They did not have the Samsung, which i wanted. So they called another branch and got it shipped over the next day. Phones4u rocks!

Demorguon December 2, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

outstanding assistance from the Phones 4 you, i went to a nearby branch. The people in there were so warm to me, it put a smile on my face. They did not have the Samsung, which i wanted. So they called another branch and got it shipped over the next day. Phones4u rocks!

Kenneth76 December 4, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I could write a book on Phones 4 U. anyhow, even a review after the outstanding service they have given us both in store and by telephone to their customer service call centre. I totally am satisfied that their customer service skills are the best when you are buying anything from them, but go back with a fault or complaint and it all goes downward.

xkakashi December 4, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Amazing guidance from the Phones 4 you, I visited this nearby branch and the staff was so warm to me. It made me filled with satisfaction and gratitude. They did not have the brand in wanted, so they got it ordered for me from another branch and I got it over the next day!

Exdragon December 6, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I could write a book about Phones 4 U after the amazing after service they have given us both in store and by telephone to their customer service call centre, I would indeed agree that their customer service skills are second to none when you are purchasing anything from them.

Gab December 6, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I got this Escape card to purchase Ryanair tickets who charges £5 per person each way of transaction fees on all cards except for prepaid MasterCards! The £10 cost is totally worth the £100’s I’ve saved in transaction fees on Ryanair.

I started off on the £650 card but eventually realised that the £650 cumulative credit over the life of the card was not enough so I had to switch to a £1,650 card over the phone.
At the same time, when I topped up by debit card at Phones4U the sales assistant there charged me 4% because she thought I used a credit card.
One call was all I needed. The customer service rep was very helpful, waited while I emailed my ID in, upgraded my card on the spot, and reversed the incorrect charges.

The only annoying thing is I have to top up the card every time I want to book a flight. But that’s the not fault of the card.

Secretz December 7, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Since so many years me and family have used phones for you millions of times and in usual days have been pleased with the service. The employees at phones 4 you are really cooperative and well-informed. The prices are almost the same as other shops, so we would suggest phones 4 u.

Kherin December 9, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

We bought a sony ericsson phone for my daughter’s sixteenth birthday. Unfortunately, in two days the display became blank. We went to the store with this issue, and the staff was so quick to respond and look after our needs! It makes me so glad to be a part of phones 4 u!

Dangerous Angel December 16, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I purchased a pay as you go Vodaphone white with £10 worth of airtime from the Phones4u website (very easy to use) The phone was delivered within a few days, however it only had £1.03 worth of airtime. I contacted customer service and was informed they would investigate, within a few within a day I received my refund.

Ahmed December 16, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Surely reviewers should be reviewing the card and not phone stores?.

ollie December 27, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

can someone please tell me if this card is worth getting or not

legend007 December 28, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The phones4u card is one of the best prepaid cards in the uk market mainly due to many reasons. Some of them are that, it does not charge you when you use your card. In addition to that there is no monthly fees and moreover you can top up at any phones 4 u branch for free!!

EulogyKnight January 3, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Shopping with my phones 4 u cards, chirstmas shopping got wrapped up pretty well, I really did not have to fidget with my purse, show those strangers the contents of my bag and spill some money over the counter. This plastic money saves my honor every time I hit the counter..!

brian January 4, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

just used the pay wages faciltity on the card what a nitemare , my employer has tried since 23rd dec to pay money in ,and also on the 29th dec with no success , i have spent xmas and new year with no money and the matter is still not resolved , there customer services are no use either and everytime i contacted them they just kept saying no payment had been received , nobody knows where my wages are !! beware of using the facility

Malcolm January 17, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

ESCAPE PREPAID CARD
Customer service non existant: 11 minutes listening to “please wait” then gets cut off.

Try it yourself 08448715444 option 4

Accredited Online Colleges January 31, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Your Escape MasterCard® Prepaid Card can be used in over 30 million locations worldwide, wherever you see the MasterCard Acceptance Mark.

Accredited Online Colleges

Leanne Gregg February 4, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I would not recommend this card at all! I bought this card based omn the information on there website BUT it does not provide full information there. It advertises 99p charge to top up your card by debit card, including online – when you try to do this the customer services tell you that you can only do this by upgrading your card for another 4.99 ontop of the 9.99 it already cost you! Also it does not make it clear that once you’ve topped up your card (in however many transactions) to the limit of the card you then have to buy a new one – It is not a transaction limit but an accumalitive limit. I have since ordered a card from neteller which is free and ongoing!

Marcus February 16, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I ordered the great value bundle only to be sent one card. On complaining they eventually sent the companion card but still no sim card with free credit. When phoning the INDIAN call centre nobody was willing to help and was told it was Lebara’s problem and not theirs. They then said they would cancel my cards and I would have to wait at least two weeks for a refund, even though I had paid by card online. I had all this hassle BEFORE I even used the card!

Martin February 21, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Very disappointing! Based on the information on their website I thought I could be able to up directly online with credit or debit card. However this is not true at all as an upgrade to the higher plan is necessary and this requires security check and extra fees to be paid. There is no information whatsoever on their website, they should be more transparent.
Their website is very poor,

Steve March 25, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

i bought an escape travel card on wed night for my up coming holiday…and through my error bought the wrong card!! when i bought the right one i e-mailed their support mail and asked for the wrong card to be cancelled…the following day they rung me on my mobile (i provided to them), and clearly explained they had done this for me, very efficient and cost me the price of a call….my experience of their customer service is very positive! :-)

Adam April 27, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I never recieved my card or a confirmation letter or a confirmation email..

They got their money straight away though! I’ve had hours of phone battles.. still nothing.

Guess what… BASED IN INDIA OR PAKISAN… They even asked me for a PIN and Password over the phone…

Dawn May 21, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

This is the worst thing I ever did getting one of these cards! On the website it says debit card top ups are usually immediate then in small print says may take 3 working days. I did this on Wednesday (now Saturday) and have been told that it won’t be available until Monday. I have after only having the account one week had to call Customer Care (what a joke) 3 times and have not yet had any satisfactory replies to my inquiries. This is in another country and seem clueless and clearly know nothing about the product. This company seriously need to train staff before they let them loose answering questions about their accounts.

lou June 4, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

how can i get my pin when i can’t get throuth to the company

Gillian June 13, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Got card to pay ryanair flights with on 3 June, went home topped up straight away online with about £950…cut a long story short, money not in until 13 June after several phone calls to India or Pakistan. On the final call i was aksed the exact amount i paid in and he then said that was it now paid in, when asked what prob was he said the system had not “refreshed”. Flights now over £1K so can t use the card unless i top up again…no chance. Absolutey terrible service!!!

george franklin June 17, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The escape card says no hidden fees.
Well when you send money abroad 10-12% of the cash dissappears.No doubt they offer the worse exchange rate ever and pocket the difference.
Its in par with western union fees but still its NOT free. When asking customer services no one can explain where the 10-12% money disappears to. DO NOT believe them when they say no hidden charges. As you see by the stars I give its bad value.

arunee langabeer June 21, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

i would advise not to have one or even 2 cards like i have i put money on this card and it couldnt be used abroad by the person that was wnting the money so i took the money out here in the uk to do a money transfar and they charged me for not being to with draw money in a different country and the have charged me for not using the card i would not get one of these cards they r crap i am stopping my card

Logiebhoy July 17, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Got one of these cards for my holiday in the Algarve. It is the best one on the market for people changing Sterling to Euro belive me ive tried them all. It gives you a great rate although you need to top up in a phones 4 u shop to beat any charges. Card worked great abroad & never cost a penny in charges. Only problem I had was that the staff in the Perth phones 4 u shop had no idea what to do with the card & gave me duff info more than once. All in all its a great wee card.

R Loots August 2, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

AVOID THIS SERVICE. Got one of these cards to make monthly budgeting easier, however got strange calls from other countries regarding my card and can’t even access my account. Tried to call customer services and my call gets cut off.

Ebony August 2, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I have my own Phones 4 U Credit Card and it works well for me. For one, it’s reloadable and I can use it anywhere I go.

Mark. Sp PORTSMOUTH August 6, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

What a load of rubbish…. Can`t top up card at local phone 4 u unless you use cash.
Who carries there holiday fund in cash around nowadays?
Tried to charge over 3% for debit card (NOT CREDIT CARD) transactions which it had not mentioned on website.(They said its free)
Avoid this rubbish and use your local travel agent for a better service. Staff were useless and didn`t know anything when asked a question.

mark August 16, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Bought this in peterborough store paid 10 + 20 top up entered all data in store to activate card ready to use,
in minutes tried to upgrade to 1650 for free the brochure says 1 photo id license passport . so I emailed a copy of license . got a reply 2 days later said need more id like passport or bill required why should i have 2 produce numerous ids 2 spend my own money. u must produce id to upgrade is complete nonsense. its my money and there should be no limit .I’m not producing any more id they can get lost .

daz August 29, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Beware of small print -though they brag about no monthly fee they do have an annual fee that is withdrawn from your account after a year.Also if you are getting it to use just for an occasional RYANAIR Flight there is a dormancy fee if not used for ninety days.

Barry September 8, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Got a companion card to use abroad for cash withdrawals at atm;s, as western union were proving too expensive. Well the companion card holder tried 6-10 different machines in mexico, all displaying the mastercard sysmbol and not one would provide cash, all atm;s displayed the message no service available, called customer services and all i got was well it should work, well its it doesn’t, very disappointed, actually believed their ads, well now looking for my money back. It seems some banks abroad do not like the pre paid debit card market.

Rosie January 3, 2012

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Be very careful to KEEP YOUR RECEIPTS when topping up. I forgot my password on the account so after three tries it logged me out. I called and rectified the problem, then I went to the Post Office and put £50 on the card. A month later i checked my balance and the £50 had not been credited to my account. I called ESCAPE and they said that because my account was locked prior to putting cash on the card – the funds had not been credited and WOULD NOT have been credited ever to my account without my calling them. I find this unacceptable. If i had lost that receipt then I would have lost the money too. Be careful and check your balance 24 hours after topping up.

Skees January 13, 2012

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Its pay day and my wages have not reached! With my normal bank account my wages would have been there by now! So yeah so far not too impressed! Waitin 4 9oclock to be told nobody nows wats going on i guess!

Chris Pilkington February 25, 2012

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Stay clear of this card simply because of the provided customer service. It is terrible.

You feel abandoned whilst abroad.

First problem was trying to buy an additional card before i left. Couldn’t load any money in a phones 4 u shop because their systems are continuosly down. I then ring to try annd buy one and the barely English Speaking call centre operative did nothing more than read from a script and kept telling me to go to a phones 4 shop. The ultimate catch 22.

Second problem is whilst abroad, I have now been locked out of my account for 36 hours due to entering the wrong code because of caps lock. I have sent 3 emails to customer support with no response, I have text unlock, which doesn’t work, I have even posted on their twitter account to find it has been deleted. My only option now is to ring the customer service line whih will cost me a fortune going through their automated responses.

My advise is too go for a card that offers a better service, which will be any. Should be called HARDPAY

generic viagra September 5, 2012

I was just looking for this info for some time. After six hours of continuous Googleing, finally I got it in your web site. I wonder what’s the lack of Google strategy that don’t rank this kind of informative web sites in top of the list. Usually the top web sites are full of garbage.

We also compare...

Bank Accounts

Best basic bank
accounts for
Free...

Travel Money Card's

Free Travel money card's just
minimum load...

Money Transfers

International money transfer providers

Latest Reviews

One banking prepaid card

Latest Pre Paid Card\'s News

Copyright 2016 :: Compare Money Transfer Limited :: All Rights Reserved