ClearCash Pay Monthly Card Review 23 reviews

clearcash

Clearcash Account Card Review

The ClearCash Prepaid MasterCard and i count is one of the most transparent prepaid cards available. It can be used all over the world wherever the MasterCard logo is seen. Anyone over the age of 18 can get a Clear Cash card. Once you have paid the activation fee it takes no more than 10 days for your card to arrive.

ClearCash users have their own “ i count” online billing platform which allows you to pay bills and standing order facility whereby you can access budgeting tools to help track you’re spending. They also have budgeting guides for download as well as a livechat facility and discount shopping site. All purchases are covered by comprehensive purchase protection insurance, unlike many prepaid cards.

Why get a Clearcash Bank Account?

The ClearCash Card is a unique prepaid card offering great value for money with a lot of features. The card costs £4.50 to get but has a major benefit over most prepaid cards on the market with its purchase protection package that includes Purchase protection, price protection and extended warranty on electrical goods. Add this to the budget master tools, easy top up options and budgeting tips, as well as free financial health checks, £9.99 per month fee is excellent value for money.

You can speak with ClearCash via livechat also via their website. You can pay for a ClearCash Card online by SMS / Text and as you can only spend what you have loaded and we don’t offer credit, you will never incur interest charges.

What sort of service do they offer?

ClearCash online bank account currently offer standing orders as well as free bill payments. In addition Clear Cash have a cashback website where users can benefit from discounts and cashback from a number of well known retailers.

The cashback earned from these retailers is credited back to your ClearCash prepaid card The downloadable education pack within the i count area details great money saving tips and great advice on how to cut household utility bills by up to 40%.

Payment plans and prepaid card benefits

The Clear Cash instant bank account is a fixed monthly payment plan by MasterCard where you pay per transaction. It can be used at over 28 million retail outlets worldwide and 1.5 ATM machines machines worldwide. There is no credit check to get your online account where your account balance must not exceed £5000.00 and currently the account card is only available in GBP (£)

Who can apply for a account?

You can get a Clear Cash basic bank account simply by being 18 years or older, resident in the UK and as long as the ID and address verifies online. Once you have completed your online application you will receive your personalised Clearcash card in a maximum of 5 days.

NO credit checks are done and you are guaranteed acceptance as long as you pay the application fee. Even if you have bad credit you can get a bad credit MasterCard.

If you would like to make a complaint about your card, contact Customer Services on 08712 884 677, or by post Clear Cash Ltd Nelson House, Park Road, Timperley, Cheshire, WA14 5BZ. However if you are not satisfied with the outcome of your complaint you can write to Financial Ombudsman Service at South Quay Plaza, 183 Marsh Wall, London E14 9SR.

apply now

Apply Now

Reviews Displaying 23 reviews

david September 22, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Easy to apply for the card.
Very easy to opperate the account and to use the card.

T Furminger September 22, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Since I got my ClearCash card I have had no problems what-so-ever. My wage is paid in on time and my standing orders are paid out correctly. It is very easy to create or amend a standing order and the whole website is very easy to navigate, even to a technophobe like me. I wouldn’t change my card for any other bank account now

Paul Cartwright September 22, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I have had my clearcash icount now for about 15 months and find it absolutely brilliant. As soon as you have paid anything then the balance is updated immediately. You can even get text messages to show your balance if you are out and about and also get reminded if you have a standing order coming up and havent got enough funds available. Over all a first class card.

Matt September 23, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Very simple and quick to apply. Easy to use. It’s been brilliant since day one. Would never change from this card account.It does exactly what it say’s on the website. No hidden extras to worry about. I would recommend the icount to my family,friends, just about anyone.

sally jennings September 23, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

i have just got my card and my 1st wage will go in this week, very impressed with the website, and correspondence. standing orders are very easy to set up, and you know where you stand with the small monthly charge, and no extras like with a normal bank account.

louise whitehill September 24, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

the card is easy to use you can only spend what you have in the bank i am impressed with the website the only problem i have is my wages being accessable i have to wait nearly 4 days after my wages are paid my company only deals with account numbers and sort codes as did my highstreet bank but because my ref number cannot be put with my details my wages are floating about until monday mid-morning bank holidays you are waiting another day this is the only problem i have it can be fustrating to have money and cant get it

Lou Noyd October 18, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The clearcash card has been extremely useful. I have used it abroad to withdraw cash and pay for purchases and have not encountered any problems at all. Now I am back in the UK it is helpful to have an extra card to use as well as my debit card. The online statements are very useful and the website is very easy to use – top marks!

Helen Samson November 12, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

very easy process from start to finnish – no complaints…and is cheaper to use as an everyday card rather than as a pay and go option

Paul Moss December 15, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I have several pre-pay cards. This is the one i prefer and have my wages paid direct onto it. Overall, i am very happy with the service provided by Clearcash.

Jayne Lewis December 16, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Excellent card, only had for a couple of months but it is so good, website easy to use, very helpfull staff, top notch card will not be changing back to a high street bank again and their high charges! If your thinking about applying for this card, do so now, you wont be disappointed

Kasun Perera December 16, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Easy to use,no hassle,great customer service.100% satisfied.

darren bull January 11, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

be carefull when you use the pay as you go card the charges are high if you are purchasing expensive goods, and often. i had difficulty in getting help if you have a problem with a retailer the payment protection ONLY applies to the Pay Monthly card. I was pushed from pillar to post but gtt through to the right department in the end. also be carefull if you load up at the post office i have had trouble with funds being put onto the card – it takes 1 working day. Also Prepaid Card Companies are not covered under the Financial services compensation scheme so you will lose all your money if Newcastle Building Society go bust – its in the small print card holders beware.

Marc January 18, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

seems the above poster was having a bad day! i have the pay as you go card and think everthing about it is fab! the fees are LOW – Have a look at the others! they are way higher! customer service is brilliant and ive never had a problem with them loading my card. I havent got purchase protection with my card as this only applies to the monthly card. To the above poster – may be have a different card tariff which is best suited to you – my advice is be aware of the fees and terms!!! :-)

darren bull January 23, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

to above post take it no transaction disputes for you yet dont worry you will if you use the internet to shop then you will know the problems ive had to deal with in getting my money back also you tell me i spent £555 on my card in one transaction and got charged by clearcash £13.90 fees LOW you must be joking think this guy is a employee

Marc January 24, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

no, not an employee, just a happy customer really, and well over 65 years old and no longer working. Being someone who has used prepaid cards for a long time i can tell you that this is one of the best ones ive had. It is your own fault if you are spending high amounts, that is down to you, you know there are transaction fees which this company does make a lot clearer on their webpage. And you agreed to the terms when you got it. If your spending high amounts you should go for a different tariff, whether it be this cards sister, a monthly payment, or another whereby transaction fees are a set amount – i use to have one but prefer this (for my needs) Also your transaction, like with other debit cards (not credit as far as i am aware) dont you need to go to the company you purchased off? if so, you are probably venting your fury at clearcash instead of the company you purchased off? not trying to have a row, but offer advice.

Mohammad January 25, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Had pay monthly card for 6 months. Very good card 4 me. Also a very caring team at clearcash who go out their way to help. one monthly fee and no transaction fee works best for me. Thanks to Gary there for his help

darren bull January 26, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

to above post i can tell you that you have more protection on your visa debit card than the clearcash card under the visa debit card you are covered under the chargeback scheme this allows customers to a refund if goods or services are not delivered this is not the case with clearcash card and customers will have problems in getting there money back. alot of people who have these cards are not retired with pots of money but have problems in getting credit and getting a bank account or building society account this is why these cards have appeard over the last few years and clearcash need to make money too from you and they need to know that if clearcash goes under problems will happen i am also here to offer my advice i dont want people to lose there money

Marc January 26, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I once made a purchase using a Halifax debit card. Goods never turned up so i went to the bank for them to sort it. Never saw a penny back. This scheme you refer to may apply to some but not all. If you cant get it back with clearcash then it is the same with all prepaid card companies of which yes, do point it out. With regards to stability of clearcash, one of the reasons i went for them was because they are part of an AIM listed company (highly respectable too) and appear to be more financially stable than most. I see that you think the customer services are good but still think that the tariff you are on may be wrong.

darren bull January 27, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

to above post i agree with you about customer services they are helpfull so they should be we are customers and keeping them in a job without us they will go under you point out that you had a halifax debit card with the chargeback scheme this is only valid with a visa cards not maestro and you should stress that you are entitled to a refund even if they initially claim ignorance anyway i do like clearcash the staff are very helpfull i like to shop on the internet and you can have problems with items which never turn up then you try to get hold of them its just a nightmare if clearcash could protect the pay as you go card customers as well that would be fine by me because the fees are high on this tariff but i dont use it enough to warrant the pay monthly tariff kind regards

NASIM January 27, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

While the above 2 bicker id like to say that i have this pay monthly card and compared to others, is brilliant. I’ve had refunds put on to my card too without a problem. Cant please all but seems apart from one poster that this card comes up trumps!

David January 27, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Thank god i dont have to deal with this bloke who is being rather “Bullish”. I dont think this company needs to worry about financial stability – look who they are part of – a very big organisation. HOWEVER, yes do agree it is worth making certain things clear. Refunds on Visa Debits can be problematical and i would know, Natwest wouldnt refund something and even getting the ombudsman involved didnt do anything, however much i ranted.

I have a ClearCash card (which was recommended to me by several of my friends) and i have recommended to others.

John Dillinger June 27, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

To the above Darrell Bull Guy, I agree with you this is true to say as I also find them very expensive as well and I believe that many of the comments on hear are from people who work directly or indirectly with this card company or both. Comments are way to complimentary and way to explanatory in information to be a ordinary person because of the cover of the detail in that they give out and the way it has been put together. Anyway, I have changed over now to The Gold Card company My cash Plus which after a very long consideration you will see by reading their web site that this is the best on the market in the Pre Payed Cards. Much more benefits and also give you cash advances and loans which is relatively new and can help with your credit file as well, many other things as well. I am pleased with this card. But as for the card you mention I think its overrated just like those making their perfect comments about it on hear….Just know they are part of the whole scheme of things.

geof July 7, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Got to be the best card around, no silly fees, online chat, English run….even give address of company. I looked at cashplus, wanted nearly £20.00, and also stated, ‘other fees may apply’.. yeah right ! Clear cash is the real deal as far as i am concerned, and for £4.50, the cheapest option !!

We also compare...

Bank Accounts

Best basic bank
accounts for
Free...

Travel Money Card's

Free Travel money card's just
minimum load...

Money Transfers

International money transfer providers

Latest Reviews

One banking prepaid card

Latest Pre Paid Card\'s News

Copyright 2016 :: Compare Money Transfer Limited :: All Rights Reserved