Blue Sky Prepaid Card 10 reviews

Blue Sky Prepaid

Blue Sky Card now only £5.49

With the prepaid MasterCard market expanding at such a fast rate, it’s confusing and tricky to know which one to opt for. We are bombarded with information on the internet and television about prepaid credit cards and all the jargon that comes along with it such as transactions fees and bank loads, etc. So, which one to choose?

My money’s on the new Blue Sky Prepaid MasterCard. This is the latest prepaid credit card on the market and it is planning to blow the other competitors out of the water. Launching in November 2010, the Blue Sky Prepaid MasterCard offers some of the most competitive rates on the market without the hidden extra charges.

The premise is straightforward – to offer people from all walks of life effortless access to electronic banking. If you are unable to open a UK bank account or have been refused credit in the past, the Blue Sky Prepaid MasterCard may be the solution to your problems. Travelling, shopping online, transferring money and managing your finances have never been so straight forward. If that isn’t enough, your Blue Sky Prepaid MasterCard is welcome in over 29 million retail outlets worldwide and can be used in over 1.5 million ATM’s around the world.

The application process is simple either via the internet or post and the loading of money onto your card is even simpler via internet, telephone, any UK bank, Post Office and anywhere you see the PayPoint  sign. Once you’ve received your Blue Sky MasterCard plastic the next step is activating it online by choosing your preferred tariff, pay monthly or pay as you go. Confused? Don’t be. Your tariff will be dependent on how many times you choose to utilize your card. For instance, if you are planning to make use of your card at least four or five times a month the pay monthly option will work best for you. A small monthly fee is charged but with that you get the benefit of free or reduced transaction costs, free UK purchases and free bank loading. If you plan on using the card less than four times a month, Pay As You Go is the way to go. There’s no monthly fee but you still benefit from their highly competitive fee structure.

Once you’ve activated your card and loaded it with some money, the sky’s (or in this case, the blue sky’s) the limit! The benefits and uses of this Blue Sky Prepaid MasterCard are so impressive that it makes you wonder why you even need an ordinary bank account from a UK bank. One of the main advantages of this card is the money sharing facility; transferring money to friends and family in the UK and overseas has never been so trouble-free (and inexpensive). All this function requires is an additional card added onto your existing account (known as a Companion Card). A Companion Card allows you, as the main cardholder, the facility to transfer money instantly and free, anywhere in the world to any family member or friend you have issued a Companion Card to. You are in total control and their spending can be monitored by you in real time, 24/7, either online or remotely by SMS. A Companion Card is available to anyone over the age of 13 so this is great for parents who have children away at University or children who enjoy bugging mum and dad for their credit card to buy things online all the time!

Another great feature of the Blue Sky Prepaid MasterCard is its Credit Booster Facility. If you have had problems with credit in the past, never had credit, been hit by CCJ’s or you are new to the UK, the Credit Booster facility can help you with your credit rating; it is a proven way to add information to your credit profile and can show that you’re a trustworthy, creditworthy customer. All you need to do is opt for the pay monthly tariff for twelve months and Blue Sky will pass on your payment history to the credit reference agencies. By demonstrating that you can make monthly payments on time, your credit rating will improve (assuming you manage other credit responsibly).

Reviews Displaying 10 reviews

Will November 16, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

The Blue Sky card is perfect for me! I’ve had problems with my credit history in the past and can’t seem to get it improved. Now I’ve started using the Blue Sky card for my day to day spending and the credit booster feature is actually helping me improve my credit score! Finally someone out there is helping me sort my finances!

Paresh November 19, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I send money back home to India regularly and before I found Blue Sky I was losing lots in fees. Now, I’ve got my main card and posted the additional card back home and send money over every week. It’s really fast and free. Great deal guys!

Surfer November 19, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

Best looking piece of plastic in my wallet!! Works just how it says on the website…..good looks and a personality to fit…so rare these days!!

Eli November 20, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I’ve been looking at the various top up credit cards around and this one seems to be best value for money as it’s got loads of benefits some of the other cards around don’t have like free payment protection and this credit boost thingy that helps improve your credit score. Good customer service too…

Holz November 20, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

My two teenage kids are always harrassing me for my credit card details (yes, iTunes is the biggest culprit!) and I’m always scared the cheeky boys will start racking up the bills! I now use blue sky to give them pocket money and sleep better at night…phew.

Gita November 30, 2010

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I recently tried out the Blue Sky Prepaid MasterCard and it was great! I have children at University so the Companion Card is a great benefit. I simply give my kids the Companion Card to take with them to uni; I keep hold of the primary card so whenever they run out of money or need topping up, I can transfer cash to them straight away and free of charge! I never have to worry about my children running out of money. Thanks Blue Sky!

bakul January 29, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I was unable to get a credit card due to my bad credit from the past, but with the Blue Sky card, i found it was easier to get money out of my account with out the hassle from banks. Also, I am a big shopper so its really convieient that i can see my balance right to my phone whenever i am at the mall, its truly beneficial!

Paisan May 31, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

I thought it was okay at first, but I’ve had dublicate charges on my card and it was quite a hassle to get it fixed, then I called their ‘customer service’ line only to find out they billed my card £1 for the call which they didn’t even answer, I got put through to a voicemail service.

barry wharton September 5, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

A really poor service,lost/stolen card phone line not open at weekend,beware of the web site it asks which card you want to cancel then cancels all of them,dispite there assurances loading card at some p.points does not work, signed up on special deal 6 months later still waiting for my £9.99 back

Mairead McErlean October 12, 2011

Application process
Fees & charges
Functions & features
Customer service
Reliability

A really poor service. I acquired this card as I was going to South America for a month. It was not clear on the literature or on the website that there is an annual load limit of £1650, although if you really hunt around on the website you can find this. I transferred several hundred pounds to my card. Bluesky did not apply it to my card, did not email me to tell me why and did not return the money to my bank. I had to telephone them and email them to find out what was going on (for which I was charged). In fact they still have the money and are trying to get me to “upgrade” my card, whereupon they will apply the funds to my card. I would have been completely stuck if I were not carrying a proper credit card. Customer service is only open 9-6 Monday to Friday, so you will be stranded if you have a problem out of hours. Card is rejected by some ATMs as “card issuer not recognised”. A poor choice if you are going to be travelling.

We also compare...

Bank Accounts

Best basic bank
accounts for
Free...

Travel Money Card's

Free Travel money card's just
minimum load...

Money Transfers

International money transfer providers

Latest Reviews

One banking prepaid card

Latest Pre Paid Card\'s News

Copyright 2016 :: Compare Money Transfer Limited :: All Rights Reserved